The first annual Great Australian IPA (with year round availability) challenge 2009 grand final event

Last weekend I put what (through my research) have been described as two of the best, If not best available IPAs in Australia to the test. I have a little rating system to make it easier (for you and me both!)…

So without further Ado..

IMG00037-20090925-2058

Jamieson ‘Beast’  India Pale Ale

7% ABV, about 60 IBUs

Apperance: 8/10 – Unfiltered. Dark amber, small head.

Aroma: 7.5/10 – Lots of fruit, more from the malt than hops though.

Taste: 8/10 – full bodied, lots going on. Reasonably hoppy (very hoppy for Australia!).

Overall:  7.75/10  – Lots of promise. I would personally tone the malt down a bit just to let those hop babies breathe, but otherwise very good.

Vs.

Bridge Road ‘Bling’ India Pale Ale

5.8% ABV, ? IBUs (probably around 50 by my estimation).

Apperance: 8/10 – Highly carbonated, big froathy head. Burnt Amber colour.

Aroma: 7.5/10 – Again malts up front, with citrus hops in the tail.

Taste: 7/10 – more a session IPA. Malty with a hop balance that never overpowers.

Overall: 7.5/10 – A well made beer no doubt, just slightly tame but undoubtly classy.

therefore…,

Winner – Jamieson ‘Beast’ IPA.

That was a close call. Both are very good. The Bling IPA is probably easier to get and the lower ABV may be preferable to some, so that may well balance the rating, but side by side I just preferred the Beast a tad more.

Any comments, queries, amusing anecdotes?

Published in: on October 2, 2009 at 11:30 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jonno79.wordpress.com/2009/10/02/the-first-annual-great-australian-ipa-out-of-a-bottle-challenge-2009-grand-final-event/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ah! Just found your blog again! Right, I’ll correct the links on mine. Good to see you are posting. Will sit back and read them now. Good to hear from you, Jonno!
    p.s. I may start homebrewing soon.
    The amazing homebrewers here shudder with anticipation…

  2. That Beast sounds good. Keep up posting about Aussie beers – I need the education for my next visit!

  3. Hi Jonno,

    I will send some beers up to you in the near future. We are a bit flat out this week with the bitter and twisted beer fest coming up.

    I don’t understand how you can call your IPA review as the Australian challange with ony 2 beers.

    The Icon2IPA is the hoppiest beer I have found in the country. Our Grand Cru is 8.8 abv which we exceeds your pick of the strongest beer in the country.

    Cheers
    Tim

  4. Cheers Tim,

    Firstly, I would have loved to include the icon but so far have not been able to procure any. I have heard great things about it (https://jonno79.wordpress.com/2009/08/28/australia-and-the-great-hop-shortage/).

    The review was a bit tongue in cheek..If you look at this post http://invein79.blogspot.com/2009/06/gonna-try-something-different.html from my blog in japan you will see my desire to try the 2IPA.

    Also from my ratebeer ratings the Murrays best extra porter is my highest rated aussie beer ever and I think in my top 20 or 30 beers ever! I know you guys are doing good things there!

    Lastly the supershine by grand ridge is 11% compared to your 8.8% so is definetely the strongest beer in Australia. Still highest ABV doesn’t equal best beer so it would be interesting to try the grand cru.

    Once again cheers for stopping by and look forward to putting the beers throught their paces.

    jonno


Leave a comment